Mike Wilson Memorial Meeting – by Les Thurkettle

Scrutineering was performed under a largely cloudless sky and after an often wet Saturday meeting everyone seemed to be in good spirits.

This meeting was a round of the MG car club Luffield Cars Speed Championship, the Dews Speed Series, the Brocksbanks Solicitors Cross Border Speed Championship, the Yorkshire Speed Hillclimb Championship, plus the final round of our own Harewood Speed Hillclimb Championship. Considering all that involvement you would expect the place to be bulging at the seams, but there was plenty of spare room in the paddock. Perhaps the full utilisation of the 'other' paddock spreads things out a bit more.

The MG cars got practice under way with many drivers having their own special agenda in one of the above championships.

The meeting proper followed the now almost standard practice of having the first runs before the lunch break but towards the end of the period the skies darkened and you could see the approaching rain when looking out to the west. The first five classes managed to get their second run in the dry but then it rained for the first time and quite hard too. That is how the day progressed. When it looked like clearing up, it rained again and again. The consequence was only one driver recorded his best time not in the first run and he was an early runner who got two dry ones.

MG cars Group 1 saw David Coulthard put down an excellent marker in his ZR 160, climbing in 71.58 secs to take the class. He like many others did not run in the wet knowing he could not improve.

MG cars Group 2 & 3 was also a comfortable win. John Payne's Austin Heeley Sprite (MG in disguise) recorded 68.42 secs to eclipse his rivals in this class.

Class 15C is for MG cars Group 4 & 5. The biggest engined MG at the meeting won this class. Andy Walkers 4600cc V8 thundered up the hill in 66.83 secs . This was the only driver to have his best time not in the first run.

Our own classes start here with class 1A for Road Modifieds won by David Smith's 1330cc Mini winning a two horse race in 71.04 secs.

Class1B for Road Modifieds up to 2 litre had the largest entry of the day. Mark Teale headed them all in his Peugeot 206 GTI with a time of 67.50 secs from James Kerr's similar car just .15 behind and Daniel Hollis in a Honda Integra. Eighteen entries in this class.

Class 1C for Road Modifieds over 2000cc is usually the domain of Mitsubishi and Subaru variants. Paul Andersons Mitsi Evo 7 was on this occasion chased home by Graham Cox's turbocharged Astra. The winning time of 67.50 secs for Paul gave him 2 secs to spare over 2nd place.

Class 2a for Road Modified Kit, Replica etc was a Henry Moorhouse benefit. He kept his Westfield on the island to very good effect getting very close to Bob Bellerby's record in the process. His winning time of 60.53 was just 2/10ths shy, but was 5 secs clear of the Bellerby car in Michaels hands

Class 2B for the bigger Road Modified Kit cars ran true to form. The class record holder Simon Green headed Karl Jackson by a very small margin. The Westfield Duratec stopped the clocks in 59.67 secs with the iconic Ariel Atom just .07 secs behind. Simon's time was about ½ second outside his class record which just about reflected the speed of the track on the day.

The Pure Lotus sponsored class 2E for road going Lotus cars was also won by the class record holder. John Graham supercharged 1800cc modern type Lotus Eleven recorded 64.06 secs heading a class full of Lotus Elise cars the quickest of which was Sarah Bosworth in 65.72 secs

Class 3A for Mod Prod cars had just one starter. An elderly NSU TT came up in 82.57 secs.

Mod Prods up to 2 litres only had two finishers. Ben Grindley's Escort was thoroughly entertaining. His 70.54 sec. climb had much sideways action to win this class.

Class 3C covers the largest Mod Prods and Steve Darley's Subaru was 'imprezive' (sic) in 58.67 secs from Paul Martins Mitsi 6. Less than a second in it but like many others they both did just the one run due to the vastly

changed conditions and they have four wheel drive.

Modified Specialist cars in Class 3F was won by Andrew Steele's Westfield in 60.42 secs. Only two other runners did not threaten his time.

Class 3G Modified Specialist cars over 1700cc. This class contains some quick cars all kit car based. Here Karl Jackson's Ariel Atom gets re-dressed to join a second class which he duly won in 58.91 secs from Mark Purdham's exotically named Purdy Hosson Bouler (there's a story there somewhere, I wish I new it!) in 60.17 secs with the Westfield of Stephen Alexander third.

Sports Libre and Hillclimb Super Sports cars up to 2000cc contest Class 4A. Sarah Cordingly has definitely got the Indian sign on her Dad in recent meetings but had a terrific scrap with Les Procter's OMS. The pity is that because of the weather it was just a one run shoot out, with Sarah coming out on top by .07 secs. It would have been good over four climbs. Les says she has a distinct weight advantage! Sarah's super time was 57.75 sec with Dale Cordingley's third place 58.70 secs.

Class 5A is for Racing cars up to 1100cc. Roy Munro's OMS 2000M was the winner in 56.36 from Simon Bailey's similar car. Graham Smith broke a drive shaft on his first timed run. Such is the friendliness and cooperation of fellow competitors that no fewer than 6 drive shafts were offered to Graham but none had the correct spline configuration. Roy Munro also offered Graham a shared drive but that was not allowed.

Class 5B Pre '94 Formula Ford 1600. Andrew Henson's Van Diemen RF91 was the winner in 63.06 secs from Ben Tranter's Swift.

Class 5C Racing cars up to 1600cc. Peter Newton just beat David Newton in the same Force PC by a minute .14 secs. Peter's time was 53.17 secs and was good enough for Peter and David to net second and third FTD.

Class 5D for Racing cars up to 2000cc. John Chacksfield's OMS 2 litre narrowly beat Morgan Jenkins in the venerable Pilbeam, the margin only .15 secs. John's time 53.63 secs.

Unlimited sized racing cars contest Class 5E. There was only one car but 2 drivers. Oliver Tomlin recorded an excellent 51.32 secs (it may be a P.B.) with Sandra climbing in 56.58 but delighted by the Tomlin family successes in the weekend. Oliver's time comfortably made FTD.

The 2011 season ended with ironically quite a nice evening but still a wet track and of course it was the end of another Harewood Championship.

Subaru driver Steve Darley was the overall winner from Simon Green performing in a Westfield with another Westfield pilot Henry Moorhouse third. The top two were competing against a bogey time that they had set. It could not have been much tighter as .59 of a second covered the top 3 after a season of competition.

It's rebuilding and tweaking time starting now, so let's see what 2012 brings.