B.A.R.C. (Yorkshire Centre) HAREWOOD HILL-CLIMB



SPRITE DRIVER C. J. Tipping has a bit of a moment at Farmhouse Bend

RECORD crowd of 15,000 spectators, a A splendid summer's day, the presence of two leading hill-climb championship contenders-Peter Boshier-Jones and Tony Marsh —among a high-quality entry of 130 was a promising setting for the B.A.R.C. (Yorks Centre) Harewood Hill-Climb on 24th May. The shape of things to come was clear when in practice Tony Marsh, on his first-ever run up the hill, cracked Boshier-Jones's existing course record by almost three-quarters of a second.

In the touring car runs Allan Staniforth gained his now customary runaway win in the Mini class by almost 3 secs., while in Class 2 H. E. Twaites showed Imps can be tuned successfully with a 0.323 sec. win. Class 3 was the usual battle between a gaggle of Cortina variants, with three "outsiders", the eventual victory going to M. Bartram by 1.059 secs. In the special series class "Mini" Kaye (1,275 c.c. Mini-Cooper S) ran away from a clutch of smaller-engined Ss and Lotus Cortinas to break the class record by nearly 2½ secs.

The over 1,600 c.c. sports-racing class had only five runners, but contained Peter Bolton's T.V.R. Grantura Griffith 200 which made fourth place, its roadholding clearly leaving much to be desired. Ultimately, Phil Scragg's lightweight E-type took the honours—and a new class record-by 0.185 secs, from Phil

Chapman's evergreen Mercury.

The small racing car class was unexciting. the winner, A. C. Goodfellow (Cooper F.J.), being well outside Mac Daghorn's record. But the class for the bigger fry was a very different matter. On his first run Marsh took off like a rocket and, holding his car superbly. shot to the top with a new 45,990 secs, course record. Boshier-Jones, whose earlier run had bugged the timing gear, immediately had his re-run and in an equally impressive ascent re-took the record with 45.882 secs! Came the second runs and Boshier-Jones, running first this time, took off superbly, rounded Country corner, twitched and coasted to a standstill with a seized engine. Immediately the course had been cleared Marsh set off in no less style and streaked to the top to record 45.157 secs. and that was that-or almost so.

As a savoury, the B.A.R.C. had arranged a single-run competition for the Montague Burton Trophy in which the four fastest touring, marque sports, sports, sports-racing and racing cars would compete, the winner to be the driver who improved upon his best time of

RESULTS

B.T.D.: A. E. Marsh (Marsh-Climax), 45.157 s. Class winners: A. Staniforth (Cooper), 55.986 s.: H. E. Twaites (Imp), 62.136 s.; M. Bartram (Cortina), 58,298 s.; C. H. Wild (Volvo), 59,394 s.; J. D. Wood (Jaguar 3.8), 55.310 s.; P. Kaye (Mini-Cooper S), 54.428 s. R. D. Sutherland (Sprite), 56.170 s.; F. T. Meakin (M.G.A), 56,709 s.; M. Oldham (M.G.B), 56,422 s.; P. J. Smith (Speedwell Sprite), 51,229 s.; C. G. Gray (Austin-Healey 3000), 53.379 s.; B. R. Devine (Jaguar), 53.352 s.; H. Wilkinson (Lotus-Ford 7), 52.171 s.; I. Harris (Lotus-B.M.C. 7) 50.632 s.; J. T. Butterworth (Lotus-Ford 23), 49.386 s.; E. P. Scragg (Jaguar E), 49.683 s.; A. C. Goodfellow (Cooper-Ford), 49.074 s.; A. E. Marsh (Marsh-Climax), 45.157 s.

day by the biggest margin. Obviously, all the boys were trying hard and it was slightly surprising only four succeeded in improving upon their previous best. Clearly Tony Marsh's chances of the Trophy were hardly good, but he gave the spectators their full money's worth with another beautiful exhibition of the hill-climbing art, albeit 1.602 secs. slower this time. In the end a popular victory went to Allan Staniforth with a 0.802 sec. improvement.

Thus ended a splendid, accident-free day's sport. J. A. STROUD.

DUDLEY & D.C.C. **CURBOROUGH FARM** SPRINT

THE Dudley & D.C.C. Curborough Sprint on 17th May was designed to appeal to members who had not previously had much experience in speed events. There were awards for best performances by novices, beginners and lady drivers, and a system of handicaps and allowances was employed to even-up performances within the six classes.

Brilliant sunshine caused delays by overheating the photo-electric cell of the timing apparatus, so that it did not operate when cars cut the beam. However, after covering up the cell, all was well, and the competitors were able to have three timed runs during the afternoon.

B.T.D. was put up by John Bloxham in his Lotus 7, with a time of 39.0 secs. The only other driver to break 40 secs. was Peter Hawthorne (Mini), who got down to 39.5.

A. R. PARKIN.

B.T.D.: J. Bloxham (Lotus-Ford 7). Novice award: G. Hunter (Mini). Beginners' award: A. Braddock (TR3). Ladies' award: Miss M. Cooper (Mini-Cooper). First Class awards: D. Griffin (Mini-Cooper); G. Cooper (Mini-Cooper); R. Eccles Sprite); R. Brindley (M.G.B); P. Hawthorne (Mini); J. Baker (Lotus Super 7). Second Class awards: R. Wilkinson (Cortina G.T.); M. Merritt (Mini-Cooper); E. Worsey (Sprite); R. Hickman (Mini-Cooper S). Third Class awards; I. Mitchell (Mini); J. Davies (A40).