Greenwood Cup Meeting

David Coulthard

I have a confession, dear reader. This report is not based on the usual first hand observations and in-depth driver interviews you are used to, for your scribe was simply too busy for those sorts of things. The penultimate round of the 2012 Harewood Speed Hillclimb Championship was also part of the venue's Golden Jubilee celebration. Fifty years and six days earlier, the Yorkshire Centre of the BARC, ran it's first meeting at Stockton Farm and a number of the original cars and/or drivers from that day were in attendance. As a result, I spent most of the weekend wandering round the paddock, taking countless pictures of old racing cars! No doubt this momentous occasion will be documented else where. It was fitting that the Golden Jubilee meeting took place under a golden sun (well, Saturday at least...) and marques with much motorsport history got the day rolling.

Over a dozen Paul Matty Lotus Championship where first up the hill. In the road car class, the Series 3 Élan of Pete Bottrill was the first car under 70 seconds. A second timed run of 68.78 was good enough for third in class. After a poor first run, the Elise 111R of Malcolm Thorne recorded a climb a tenth quicker than Pete, to bag second, but way out front by almost 2 seconds was Jon Dobson, in his Élan +2. Some very pretty racing cars followed. Championship sponsor, Paul Matty, driving a 1965 Formula 2 Type 35 posted a run of 62.81 for third. The 1970 Formula 3 69 of Anthony Wallen led the class after run one on a 61.54, but DNF'd on run 2. That slip allowed David Hampton to set a class winning, record breaking climb of 60.75, in a Formula 2 version of the 69.

The Luffield Car/MG Car Club Speed Championship runners followed. The 'Standard' car class was exclusively 'modern' (I use the term loosely...) MGs. The 2.5 litre V6 ZS of Ashley Woodward was the only driver to get within a second and a half of your scribe, who won the class on a 71.50, in the ZR 160. Fifty years ago, John Willman drove his MGA in that first Harewood meeting. He went home that day reasonably happy with 5th from a class of 7 cars. Today, having moved to an MGB, John fittingly won the 'Modified' class. It would be churlish of me to mention that John spun the B, during his lunchtime 'Demonstration Run'! A bit of crafty extra practice, eh, John? In the 'Specials' class, the mighty 4.6 litre MGB Roadster of Andy Walker had a narrow win over the supercharged MGF of Andy Kitson. 62.96 set a new class record, too.

Club Alpine Renault made a debut visit to the hill. The A110 of Bob Gibson took an easy win in this small class, with a 67.08.

And so to the real business of the day, the penultimate round of the Harewood Championship. In Class 1A, for the smaller engined Saloons and Sportscars, Mike Geen in his usual Pug 205 had two second in hand over Joe Jackson, who's usual mount was not available. In Class 1B, the Honda S2000 of Karl Jackson sneaked under the 70 second barrier, for third on a 69.74, a time he recorded on both his first and third runs! A further second up the road was David Blakeston in his Honda Integra Type R. But taking the class

by half a second was Daniel Hollis, also in an Integra Type R, with an accent of 68.45. Class 1C, was easy pickings for Richard Archbould. The Mitsubishi Evo VI driver was some 6 seconds quicker than the Subaru Impreza of Francis Cooper, on a 65.21. It was great to see Harewood stalwart, Peter Herbert, out in the Porsche 911.

In the Kit Car Class 2A, Henry Moorhouse in his Westfield SE was made to fight hard by the Sylva Striker of Michael Bellerby. 61.19 and 61.89 the respective fastest times. In 2B, Paul Blackwell's Caterham R400 was too quick the same manufacturer's R Sport of Simon Ambler, whilst the TVR Taimar of Chris Thurgar-Dawson was the only runner in Class 2D. 74.62 was a respectable time, however.

Class 2E is better known as the Lotus Elise class. The S1 of Graeme Laslett posted 65.95 on run one, which was good enough for third in class, and Ben Lovall DNF'd on run 1, but managed 64.13 on run 2 for second. However, having set the class record during the August Bank Holiday meeting, Sheffield's Sarah Bosworth smashed her own record once again with a first run of 62.94. Obviously, that was enough to take the class win, but would it be enough to take the Championship overall. Sarah faced a sleepless night, I suspect...

The Modified Saloons followed. In Class 3A, Roy 'Bod' Bolderson's Mini took the win, on a 68.86. However, this feat was only achieved after Bod had extricated himself from the confines of Geoff Gartside's Cooper 500. The Mini is small, but not as small as a Cooper 500! Angela Jones, in her Pug 205GTi took third in Class 3B with a 73.82, beaten by four tenths by the Toyota MR2 of David Exton. But with a second in hand, the Honda S2000 of Ronnie MacGregor beat them all, with a final run of 72.29. Class 3C was tight for the top three. Second after the first run, John Stevenson slipped back to third at the end of the day. The Impreza recording a 61.55. Nipping past John on his second run was Paul Martin, who's Evo VI set a best time of 60.17. But the Impreza of Steve Darley was never to be headed. Run two proved to be the pick of the three timed runs, with a 59.58.

Chris Boyd took Class 3F in his Sylva Riot. 61.62 was good enough to keep the older Sylva Striker of Malcolm MacKay at bay. The top drivers in Class 3G were covered by half a second! Fourth, on 61.90, was Darren Coleman in a Striker. Third was the Westfield of Mike Tate, on a 61.81 (a time he set on both his second and third runs). One tenth quicker in second was the Avon Sprint of Jerseyman Mick Lancashire. But outpacing them all, with a first run of 61.40, was Mark Purdham in something called an MJ Hosson-Bouler, which I admit, is a new one on me...

Sports Libre next, and Class 4A. Dale Cordingley had his usual battle with Les Proctor, but this time the Radical Prosport driver came third behind the OMS SC4 CF 'Batmobile'. Almost two seconds ahead was the venerable Mallock Mk. 32 of Len Amy. 57.11 was good enough to win the class. The MG Metro 6R4 of Chris Wise was all alone in Class 4B. 64.51 was the best of the couple of runs taken.

And finally, single seat racing cars, of various types and ages. 5A, for 1100's, provided a simple class win for the OMS 2000S of Graham Smith. In the Pre-1994 Formula Fords, Andrew Henson's Van Dieman RF91 was unable to better Ben Tranner's first run of 62.89 in

the Swift FB91. However, missing out by 0.08 must have been frustrating. Class 5C (1100 – 1600cc) maintains it's popularity and was a 'lockout' for the local OMS brand. Stephen Elliot just missed out on the podium, having put up a time of 57.97 in his 2000M. Lynn Owen warmed the tyres of the 'Works' 25, taking third in class on the way, with a time of 57.68 and Lee Griffith, in a similar car, bagged second on 55.26. However, a time of 53.60 was miles better than anyone else, and allowed Steve Owen in the warm-tyred 'Works' car to win with ease and set second FTD. 5D saw John Chacksfield beat the Dellara F301 of Colin Birkbeck for second in class, but the win and FTD went to Morgan Jenkins in the Pilbeam MP87, with a first run of 53.25.

As befitting such a historic meeting, the classic racing cars closed the days proceedings. Peter Hamilton's 1973 Techno F3 netted third in class, after a 63.81 second timed run. The Brabham BT30 of Jolyon Harrison was next. The York driver was remarkably consistent, setting times of 62.10, 62.11 and 62.11! But heading a magnificent group of cars, was Peter Voigt, in the TechCraft Buick, in which the great Roy Lane won the 1969 British Hillclimb Championship. A climb of 61.47 proving that old racing car never die, they just go faster.

Wow! What a day. Thank you BARC Yorkshire Centre for organising such a wonderful event, and sorry to any owners if I drooled over your classic car.