## Fun in the Sun

## Steve Wilkinson

Despite the weather forecast the first of the two August hillclimbs at Yorkshire's finest was held in near perfect conditions. Steve Owen's only run was good enough for the FTD Trophy with Lynn picking up second FTD.

Kicking off the timed runs were the 'guest' championships. The Austin Healeys were first and it was the Adrian Ball and Robin Johnson pairing that was on top with Paul Baker in his Mk 2 Sprite third. The Lotus 7 runners were also having a preview and class wins went to Paul Boston, David Dowson, David Nelson, Stuart Miller, Mark Durrant and the solo Robert Margel – Sunday being their Championship round. The final 'guests' were the Aston Martin Owners Club members. First place went to Tom Whittaker, a Harewood old boy, with a new class record of 71 seconds. Colin Kingsman who had held the record was second.

We were then into the normal Harewood classes with Road Modified cars. In the Up to 1400 class Mike Geen held the upper hand whilst co-driver and car owner Joe Jackson held second spot throughout. In the two litre split Dan Hollis just held off fellow Honda Integra runner David Blakeston for the win. Peter Lythell (Elan) took third with and was the only other runner below 70 seconds. In the Over 2 Litre class Richard Archbould dominated. Graham Cox, Paul Anderson and Jonathan Armitage completed the Mitsubishi clean sweep. In the 1700 Kit-car class Henry Moorhouse was within a second of the class record with Michael Bellerby snapping at his heels. In the Over 1700 class Richard Paterson in the Striker took the win with Simon Ambler second in his Caterham. The final Roadgoing class for Elise cars went to class record holder Sarah Bosworth who only took one run as the clutch was slipping. Ben Lovell was second with Tracey Taylor-West third.

Mod Prods were next and in the Up to 1400s Ivan Russell in his Anglia set a PB en route to the win. The Minis of Phil Worsley and Gerard Henry completed the top three. In the 2 litre class there was a minor invasion from Loton Park! Vini Dobson's local knowledge and sheer pace won him the class whilst the Hagley boys battled through. Steve Bailey (Escort Mk 1) took second and Ralph Pinder (205) third however the third 'amigo' Karl Stevens suffered a broken driveshaft and was out. In the Over 2 litre class Steve Darley returned with the repaired Impreza which looked immaculate. Darley was consistent but was still over a second shy of the record. Second spot went to Paul Martin who was a meagre six hundredths in arrears! John Lowe from Moray was 'on his holidays' but as the solo runner in Class 3F was unchallenged. James Wilkinson in the brutish Autotune Gemini V8 took the Over 1700 Kit Car class from father Howard. There was a solo win for Derek Kessel from Saltash in his 'sports libre' Maguire Mini before the Racing Cars were on track.

1100 Racing Cars went to local 'veteran' Graham Smith with the visiting Keith Weeks second in the Image. Formula Fords saw another win for Ben Tranter but in second place it was Rob Spedding in Peter Whittle's Swift. Spedding was making his single seater debut and even led after the first timed runs when Tranter overstepped the line at Quarry. In the 1600 racing car class Steve Owen took the win even though the engine "nipped up and possibly dropped a valve". Lynn Owen was second having slashed 2.71 seconds off her PB! With Lee Griffiths sidelined after he spun out at Quarry on his first timed run and retired the third spot went to Catherine Elliot in the families 2000M. John Chacksfield took the 2 litre class in his OMS CF04 with George Laycock, who was doing some pre-

Bo'ness testing, second in the FARM. The final Racing car class had the one runner – Dave Tilley in the Rover V8 powered Toleman. Tilley hadn't visited Harewood for some years and spent a lot of time familiarising himself with the track.

Steve Owen was absent from the prize presentation as he was back at vase fixing the 25 ready for the following day. Lynn picked up the two trophies thanking all concerned and hoped for just as good a meeting on Sunday.

## Results:

FTD: Steve Owen (1.5 OMS-Suzuki 25) 53.51s

Class Winners: Adrian Ball (1.4 Austin Healey Sprite) 66.88s; Paul Boston (1.6 Lotus-Rover 7) 67.94s; David Dowson (1.8 Lotus-Rover 7) 70.32s; David Nelson (1.8 Lotus-Rover 7) 61.45s; Stuart Miller (1.8 Lotus-Rover Superlight) 60.42s; Mark Durrant (1.9 Lotus-Rover R500) 60.63s; Robert Margel (1.4 Lotus-Suzuki 7) 61.41s; Tom Whittaker (5.9 Aston Martin DBS) 71.00s – Record; Mike Geen (1.3 Peugeot 205) 68.97s; Daniel Hollis (1.8 Honda Integra R) 68.45s; Richard Archbould (2.0t Mitsubishi Evo 6) 66.04s; Henry Moorhouse (1.6 Westfield-Honda SE) 73.73s; Richard Paterson (2.0 Sylva Striker RS500) 62.19s; Chris Thurgar-Dawson (3.0 TVR Taimar) 75.56s; Sarah Bosworth (1.8 Lotus Elise) 63.75s; Vini Dobson (2.0 VW Golf) 63.22s; Steve Darley (2.3t Subaru Impreza) 60.02s; John Lowe (1.3 Fisher Fury Suzuki) 63.40s; James Wilkinson (3.5 Autotune Gemini V8) 65.37s; Derek Kessell (1.4 Maguire Mini Cooper) 64.54s; Graham Smith (1.1 OMS-Kawasaki 2000M) 56.49s; Ben Tranter (1.6 Swift FB91 FF) 63.05s; Steve Owen 53.51s; John Chacksfield (2.0 OMS-Vauxhall CF04) 56.09s; David Tilley (3.9 Toleman-Rover TG280R) 61.19s