Tropical monsoon and lightning bring an end to festivities!

Steve Wilkinson

The day started well but soon the thunder started to roll in. Lunchtime saw massive lightening strikes which affected the links from the timekeepers to the top of the hill. This was followed by squally showers until finally a full blown monsoon flooded the track and brought a premature end to the meeting. The times of those lucky enough to complete a third run were discounted which left Steve Owen topping the times for the second day in succession.

The Austin Healeys led the way and Adrian Ball, who had switched to Murray Wakeman's car after the Yellow Frogeye failed, took the class win. Paul Baker grabbed second with John Tewson (100/6) third. Robin Johnson, who switched to sharing Colin Gale's Sprite, finished down the order in twelfth place. Next on the hill were the Lotus 7 Cars. In Class 1 Alan Johnson took the win with his first run time whilst Paul Boston, who had Steffan Eldred snapping at his heels, had to be satisfied with second. In Class 2 Graham Howard led on both runs to take the win ahead of Jonathan Ward who slipped into second at the expense of Robert Spencer. In Class 3 Matthew Willoughby finished ahead of David Nelson despite a second run spin that opened the door. Nelson had to fight back from third to relegate David Wingfield and Jeff Smith. In Class 4 Stewart Miller posted the two fastest times to take the win with Paul Forster and Richard Anderson joining him on the podium. Class 5 went to Mark Durrant as he too dominated however Shaun Elwell closed the gap and just held off Dave Gemzoe. The Bugatti Classics followed and Martin Jones in his over-tyred FF Lotus took the win from Grant Cratchley's Historic FF Lotus 61 and John Newton who initially held second in his Frogeye.

Then it was back to the Harewood class structure with the Roadgoing classes. Mike Geen and Joe Jackson took the 1-2 in the 1400 class with the latter setting a PB. In the 2 litre split William Roberts in his rapid Polo G40 recovered from fifth place to take the win with the Hondas of David Blakeston (Integra), Karl Jackson (S2000) and Daniel Hollis (Integra) hot on his heels. In the Over two litre class Richard Archbould led after each run whilst Jonathan Armitage and Graham Cox held station in a Mitsubishi clean sweep. Henry Moorhouse again kept Michael Bellerby at bay in the first of the Kit Car classes. Whilst in the second Chris Howard-Harris kept the lead after his first run despite a classic agricultural run 2. In the Specialist Cars class Quin Evans lowered the class record on his first run to take the win from former class record holder Chris Thurgar-Dawson. In the last of the Roadgoing classes for the Lotus Elise cars it was Class Record holder Sarah Bosworth who led throughout; Ben Lovell took second well clear of the rest. Into Mod Prod and Gerard Henry took the 1400 class after Phil Worsley's Mini hit trouble in practice. Vini Dobson took the 2 litre split with ease as Ralph Pinder headed the Hagley contingent. In the Over 2 Litre class Steve Darley got very close to his record whilst Paul Martin had to rely on his second run after problems before lunch. John Lowe took another solo win before James and Howard Wilkinson thundered up to a 1-2 in the big capacity Kit Car class.

In Sports Libre Dale Cordingley took the win with ease whilst Derek Kessell brought his smart Maguire Mini home second. Keith Hardy (Radical) was third and Les Procter, who was running his Sebring Sprite, was fourth. Into the Racing Car classes and in the 1100s Graham Smith again won and also set third FTD. Keith Weeks took second as Ed and Steve Carter struggled with their Jedi and only managed one timed run each. In the

Formula Ford class Ben Tranter again took the win but Rob Spedding again closed the gap. In the 1600 class it was another Owen 1-2 with Steve ahead of Lynn. Third went to Cathy Elliot with husband Steve fourth. There were solo wins for John Chacksfield, who also posted second FTD, and Dave Tilley, who again explored the far reaches of Harewood.

A big thank you was expressed to the marshals for their sterling work and also for the organisers who managed to get through the meeting coping with several major problems due to the lightening and rain.

Results:

FTD: Steve Owen (1.6 OMS-Suzuki 25) 53.86s

Class Winners: Adrian Ball (1.4 Austin Healey Ashley Sprite) 67.63s; Alan Johnson (1.6 Caterham-Rover 7) 67.92s; Graham Howard (1.8 Caterham-Rover 7) 67.19s; Matthew Willoughby (1.6 Caterham-Rover 7) 62.53s; Stuart Miller (1.8 Caterham-Rover 7 Superlight) 61.05s; Mark Durrant (1.9 Caterham-Rover7 R500) 61.33s; Robert Margel (1.4 Caterham-Suzuki 7) 61.75s; Martin Jones (1.6 Lotus-Ford 51A) 64.58s; Mike Geen (1.4 Peugeot 205) 69.14s; William Roberts (1.3s VW Polo G40) 68.34s; Richard Archbould (2.0t Mitsubishi Evo 6) 65.16s; Henry Moorhouse (1.6 Westfield-Honda SE) 61.26s; Chris Howard-Harris (1.8 Caterham-Rover 7) 61.41s; Quin Evans (2.0t Vauxhall VX220) 65.44s – Record; Sarah Bosworth (1.8 Lotus Elise) 63.80s; Gerard Henry (1.4 Austin Mini) 71.91s; Vini Dobson (2.0 VW Golf) 62.84s; Steve Darley (2.3 Subaru Impreza) 58.38; John Lowe (1.3 Fisher-Suzuki Fury) 62.79s; James Wilkinson (3.5 Autotune Gemini Rover V8) 63.84s; Dale Cordingley (1.3 Radical-Suzuki Prosport) 58.86s; Graham Smith (1.1 OMS-Kawasaki 2000M) 55.97s; Ben Tranter (1.6 Swift-Ford FB91 FF1600) 62.90s; Steve Owen 53.86s; John Chacksfield (2.0 OMS-Vauxhall CF04) 54.52s; Dave Tilley (3.9 Toleman-Rover TG280R V8) 61.58s