## More Patience Reigns – by James Kerr

## Montague Burton Trophy

A dry (ish) start although not exactly the kind of sky normally associated with August, however practice was a much smoother affair and with the weather at least dry all that remained was to anticipate the 3 class runs that were about to unfold.

The guest classes were as per the Saturday meeting with the addition of a trio of Ginettas who got us underway, Nick Stephens took the class by some margin in his G12 from Robert Palletts G33. Then we were back to the running order from the day before, the Austin Healeys were again topped by Tom Walker in his Mkl going much quicker than Saturday with 66.20 - a time not a million miles from the class record! A new trio of Sunday drivers took the remaining awards, Wakeham, Johnson and Cooper having a good old scrap for the pots.

The Caterham classes were swollen from the day before and those who took the sneaky practice afforded the previous day didn't have it all their own way, 23A saw Ian Keen demoted from hero to zero, Saturdays winner forced to watch from the cheap seats as Paul Boston took the win with a 68.42, Alan Johnston repeated his 2nd in class of the day before. Into 23B and Saturday winner Paul Collins had to settle for bronze as Graham Howard just nicked the win from Jonathan Ward, the top two just 0.07 apart. 23C was a similar story with Malcolm Hickey bumped to 3rd in class by David Nelson (1st) and Richard Price (2nd). A reversal of fortune in 23D with Shaun Elwell having to settle for 2nd place as Chris Howard Harris opened up an unassailable gap from the off and took the win by over a second, Stuart Miller also turned up the wick to reverse the Saturday result with Mike Sankey, Stuart pipping Mike for 3rd by 0.13. 23E ran as per Saturday minus David Nelson, the minor placings bumped up in his absence, but nothing could be done to halt the progress of Mr Championship co-ordinator Durrant.

The regular Harewood classes began with a mini (issigonis) duel in 1a, David Taylor was quickest on the draw and took the win. The band played on in 1b, the top three locked out from the previous day, although Simon Smith, fresh from a Saturday raid on the Lancashire sprint scene took 4th. Paul Anderson made the most of a depleted start list in 1c and won with a 67.25, Graham Cox in runner-up spot.

Up to 1700cc kit cars was a carbon copy of the day before as far as the awards were concerned but the times were even quicker, one of the exceptional drives of the day from Bob Bellerby (another recent Driving school graduate!) who lowered the existing class record on each of his three timed runs (I wonder when that was last done?) to take the class in fine style, mention also to young 'enry who had to settle for 2nd in class after breaking the class record on his 2nd timed run only to discover back in the paddock that Bob had gone quicker, Mike Smith rounded out the podium and Michael Bellerby picked up the final pot for 4th.

An identical podium in 2b as well although Simon Green had an additional reason to celebrate after chipping another 0.40 off his own record, it looks like Karl Jackson now has his work cut out to make an impact on this class this year, knowing Karl though it won't be for want of trying.

Chris Thurgar Dawson ran his TVR uncontested in 2d.

John Graham had his particular Lotus product in fine form and led out a mirror image of Saturdays podium with a time just 0.26s outside his own class record.

Richard Casey ran his mini again in 3a, this time unopposed.

Mick Davey took the Mod prod class in his Vauxhall powered MkII Ford Escort, David Marshall having to settle for 2nd place nearly three quarters of a second in arrears.

The unlimited Mod Prod class was again the same podium but what a ding-dong! Darley's banana was flying, he won the class and reset the record by a full second over the course of the weekend, definitely the other exceptional drive of the day. Mention must also go to Donald McCaskill who on only his third visit to the hill clocked a time of 58.93 to take 2nd in class, whilst Paul Martin was third with 59.25 - both of these times were also within the (now old) Bainbridge record from 2004, this class is on fire!

3f was a walkover for Robert Bailey.

Karl "two entries" Jackson took the 3g win in his supercharged Atom, putting more clear air between himself and his runner-up from Saturday Brian Newton.

The "little" libre class was a reversal of the that which had gone before (24hrs before to be precise) and this time it was age before beauty as Les Proctor made the best of the conditions to press home his advantage, Sarah C had to settle for 2nd just over a second adrift.

Just over half a second separated the top two in the up to 1100cc racing car class, Graham Smith was forced to work hard for the class win and a further 9 points in his Harewood FTD championship campaign, Simon Bailey was the man doing the chasing in 2nd and Fergus Duncan again finding himself on the final step of the podium.

In the Formula Ford class of 1994, Head boy again was Andrew Henson, quicker than Saturday (as were all his classmates), Peter Whittle a solid runner-up spot.

The up to 1600cc Racing cars was taken by OMS MD Steve Owen, his 52.98 was enough for FTD too, the OMS 25 is a super looking car and development is obviously progressing apace. Peter Newton pipped his co-driver David Newton to take 2nd in class and 2nd FTD.

Tables were turned in the up to 2000cc racing cars as Mr Chacksfield had to give best to Jason Mourant who put in his best time of the weekend on his final run to win the class and round out the FTD podium with 3rd quickest time of the meeting.

See you for the Summer Championship meeting on the August Bank holiday Sunday, we will be joined by the motorbikes, lets hope for their sake the weather stays fine!