

centre reports cent

yorkshirecentrereport

HAREWOOD OPEN MEETING 10TH MAY

High track and air temperatures and a slightly dusty track, following mud being carried on to the track at the April meeting, impeded the drivers' times at the Harewood May Open meeting. Airbus pilot trainer James Blackmore set the fastest time of the day with a 54.05 second run in his 1600cc OMS CF05.

Blackmore was 0.84 seconds clear of Dave Banner in his 1098cc OMS 2000, who just pipped John Chacksfield in a similar OMS by 0.02 seconds, completing an OMS one-twothree. OMS race cars took seven of the top 10 places.

2007 Harewood Champion Karl Jackson won the large capacity saloon car class. Competition in the under 2 litre saloon car class was intense with the top six drivers separated by less than a second. David Marshall took the win from James Kerr, both in Peugeot 205 GTis ahead of David Sturdy in the supercharged VW Polo.

Andrew Henson took his Formula Ford Swift to a clear win over Frazer Graham's Van Diemen, just a second shy of the class record. Whist Terry Everall was under half a second off the 1400 to 2000cc modified production car record and over two and a half seconds clear of the second placed driver.

BRITISH CHAMPIONSHIP MEETING 11TH MAY



Scott Moran took the fastest time of the day with a blistering 49.35 second run at Harewood Hillclimb on Sunday in his 3.5 litre Gould race car. Scottie's best time was just 0.16 seconds shy of his own hill record at Harewood. In the process Moran won both rounds of the Nicholson McLaren British Hillclimb Championship to keep him in number one spot of the British Championship. Reigning champion Martin Groves set second fastest time of the day in his Gould before succumbing to fuel pressure problems on his second qualifying run and also in the second round run off. However, top drive of the day must go to Jos Goodyear in the 4 litre Pilbeam MP97. Goodyear absolutely attacked the Yorkshire track, showing great car control as he set a superb 50.60 second run, just 0.4 outside Martin Groves time.

In the up to 1600cc race car class James Blackmore's OMS had a half second lead over Robert Kenrick's Force, both being well clear of the chasing pack. Blackmore was just 0.08 seconds off the class record which he holds. Also close to his own class record was Paul Haimes, only 0.18 seconds away in his 2 litre Dallara and despite later fuel pressure problems Martin Groves was just 0.21 off the over 2 litre class record which he holds.

Peugeot 205 driver David Marshall set the pace for the up to 2 litre road modified class, although the top five in the class were only separated by 0.6 seconds. Other class wins from Simon Fidoe in the sports libre Pilbeam and Dave Banner in the OMS were only a second away from the class records.

CLASSIC & VINTAGE HILLCLIMB 7TH JUNE



Jon and Bronwen Waggitt secured first and second place at the Harewood Classic and Vintage Hillclimb in their Brabham BT30. Last year Bronwen took top spot at the event. This year Jon was the only driver to achieve a sub 60 second run at the UK's longest hilllclimb. Andrew Thorpe completed the top three in his Brabham BT35 on its first outing after significant work on the gearbox had limited his track time.

The meeting was host to a wide variety of cars from days gone by, including Edwardian cars, pre and post war cars built up until 1972. Cars ranged from the diminutive 747cc Austin Sevens to the monster 12 litre Amilcar of Robin Baker. Nearly half of the class records set at last year's inaugural event were broken on the day.



JIM THOMSON TROPHY 8TH JUNE

Dave Banner took fastest time of the day at the Jim Thomson Trophy meeting extending his lead in the Harrogate Audi Fastest Time of the Day Championship. Second spot was secured by arch rival John Chacksfield in a similar car. Third place fell to Peter Hamilton in his ex-Steve & Lynn Owen 2 litre methanol fuelled OMS CF04. In fact seven of the top ten places were taken by the Yorkshire built race car manufacturer for the second time this year.

The Porsche cars class was won by Colin Belton in his 993 RSR after breaking a drive shaft earlier in the day and having to make a quicktripbacktoLancashirefora replacement. After fixing the car, all three of his competitive runs were under the class record. The top for places in the over 2 litre modified saloon and sports cars were separated by less than a second, with current Harewood Champion Karl Jackson in his Mitsubishi EVO coming out on top, extending his lead in the 2008 Harrogate Audi Championship over David Marshall. Sarah Bosworth won her class by 0.2 secs in the Lotus Elise, from Tony Hart's Renault 5GT.

Chris Mason had a lucky escape when the Jaguar E Type he was driving suffered from a stuck throttle, which catapulted the Jaguar off the track at the final corner. Whilst the car suffered some damage, Chris was unhurt. In the 1100 – 1600cc race car class the top three drivers were separated by 0.6 of a second, with the fast improving David Grey taking the win and consolidating his second place in the FTD Championship.

Dale Cordingley BARC Yorkshire Photos: Hedward.com