centre reports centre Centre

yorkshirecentrereport

OMS DOMINATE AGAIN

Despite a light shower in morning practice, the weather for once was reasonable for the Summer Championship meeting on 24th August at Harewood Speed Hillclimb. OMS cars took eight of the top 10 fastest times continuing their season long domination.

Dave Banner set a stunning time in his Extreme Engines 1098cc OMS race car to take fastest time with a 54.18 second run, just over half a second off the class record. Meanwhile Robert Kenrick in his 1600cc Force had to settle for second spot with a 54.72 second run, some 2.5 seconds away from his class record. Third fastest time was set by John Chacksfield in his 1098cc OMS.

David Sturdy set a new class record in his supercharged VW Polo, knocking 0.06 of a second off the existing record. Meanwhile Karl Jackson, who is leading the Harrogate Audi Championship, knocked 0.04 seconds off the class record he set at the last Harewood meeting in early August, extending his lead in the Championship.

The top four in the up to 2 litre road modified saloon car class were split by just one second with Richard Vale following David Sturdy in the shared car by just 0.1 of a second, ahead of David Marshall and James Kerr both in Peugeot 205 GTIs. For once Karl Jackson didn't have it all his own way in his Mitsubishi EVO, for whilst setting a new class record, he had Kenny Brookes breathing down his neck, just 0.14 seconds behind in his EVO.

Damon Grey stole the class win on the last run from Paul North by just 0.1 seconds, with Robert North 0.24 behind the leading pair. Graham Smith nudged his Van Diemen sports car ahead of Les Procter's OMS by 0.21, to take the class win.

HEMMINGWAY FORCES HIS WAY TO TOP SPOT

Mark Hemmingway snatched victory on the final run of the day at the Greenwood Cup meeting on 20th September in his 1300cc Force HC race car. Hemmingway had battled all day with Dave Banner in the OMS, who finished second overall in his OMS 2000m race car. John Chacksfield completed the top three in his OMS, with just a second separating the trio on one of the few dry days this year.

Terry Pigott knocked 1.23 seconds off the MG group 4 & 5 car class record in his MGB V8, whilst David Morrison took a further 0.79 seconds off his own MG cars group 2 & 3 record in his Midget.

Meanwhile the regular classes battled it out, with many drivers still trying to improve their points score in the Harrogate Audi Championship. Championship leader and current holder Karl Jackson had to withdraw his Mitsubishi EVO with clutch problems, opening up the championship. As

a result Paul Martin took his Mitsubishi EVO to a 0.05 second victory over Kenny Brooks in his EVO. Championship rivals David Sturdy (VW Polo) and David Marshall (Peugeot 205 GTi) set identical best times, but Marshall took the top spot in the class by virtue of his other run times. This moved Marshall very close to Karl Jackson in the championship with just one round remaining.

David Bailey took the Formula Ford class with a run which was just 0.41 away from his own class record and 0.59 seconds ahead of fast charging Andrew Henson.

Other battles continued throughout the field with Les Procter's (OMS) final run just failing to take the win from Graham Smith (Van Diemen) in the sports libre class with 0.12 seconds separating the pair at the end. In the modified production cars up to 2 litre class, David Spaull (Westfield) grabbed the win by 0.2 seconds on his final competitive run from Colin Birkbeck (Caterham 7) who had held the lead until that point.

SEASON ENDS WITH A BANG FOR BANNER

Dave Banner's season ended with a bang at the Mike Wilson Memorial meeting on Sunday 21st September, when his 1098cc Kawasaki powered OMS 2000m snapped sideways and embedded itself in the hedge at the fast Willow corner. Dave was ok, but the usually pristine OMS definitely looked the worse for the excursion with three corners badly damaged. Despite this Banner held the fastest time of the day until the final car ran up the hill at the end of the day when OMS constructor Steve Owen added insult to injury by taking the top spot by 0.15 seconds in his 1660cc OMS CF08! Consolation for Dave Banner came in his victory in the Harrogate Audi Fastest Time of the Day Championship. Third place overall at the meeting went to John Chacksfield in another 1098cc OMS 2000m.

After having to pull out of the previous day's meeting with clutch problems in his 2.4 litre turbo Mitsubishi EVO, reigning champion and 2008 championship leader Karl Jackson had to work hard to secure his back to back victory in the Harrogate Audi Championship. Karl took a narrow victory in the championship of just 0.09 points with 106.41 points, from a hard charging David Marshall in his Peugeot 205 GTi after eight rounds of the championship. Third place in the championship went to Richard Vale in the VW Polo, just ahead of David Sturdy who shared the same car. The top five was completed by James Kerr in his Peugeot 205.

Two new Paul Matty class records were set by Jon Dobson in his Lotus Elan, some 3.32 seconds faster that his own record set last year and David Hampton in his Lotus 69 race car, some 1.26

seconds faster that the class record held by Paul Matty.

The competition was tough elsewhere in the field with just over a second separating the top five in the 1400 to 2000cc road modified class. David Marshall took the win in his Peugeot 205 from Richard Vale (VW Polo), David Sykes (Peugeot 205), David Sturdy (VW Polo) and Steve Mitchell (Peugeot 205). Kenny Brooks pushed Karl Jackson (both in Mitsubishi EVOs), Brooks finally finishing just half a second behind the champion in the class.

In the Formula Ford class only 0.01 of a second separated class winner David Bailey (Reynard) from Andrew Henson (Swift). In the modified production cars 1400 to 2000cc class 0.56 separated the top three. David Spaull took the win in his Westfield ahead of Mick Lancashire in the Avon Special, whilst Mike Tate took a very impressive third spot with his road going Westfield. John Tomlinson took his 5 litre Westfield to a class win 0.27 seconds ahead of Kurt Ramsden's similar car, whilst Graham Smith took another class win in his Van Diemen sports car ahead of Les Procter's OMS by a mere 0.09 of a second.

Dale Cordingley BARC Yorkshire







PHOTOS: ©HEDWARD.COM